I've been taking this yoga class for a couple of months now. It's about the only physical thing I'm doing these days. I really like the teacher, and the focus of the class, which is Wellness Yoga. I looked at a lot of different classes before I started, and I learned some things: 1) Most yoga studios (in Boulder, at least) cater to people who don't work or who don't work an 8-5 job. 2) Hot yoga sounds like exercising in Hell. 3) Most yoga classes cost way more than I want to spend.
My teacher, Heidi, doesn't spend a lot of time maneuvering us through a bunch of poses with weird names. Well, maybe she does, but she rarely mentions the names. We stretch, a lot. We do things that make muscles I've forgotten I even had hurt for two days afterward. She's Danish and has a really cute accent. She talks about activating the belly and makes it sound like "belleee."
She was gone last week and her substitute teaches in a very different way. I'm sure she's a great yoga teacher, but she assumed that we knew all those weird names, and not just in English, but Hindu, maybe? I don't know the language for sure. We didn't stretch at the beginning of the class. She didn't take time to offer alternatives for a position for people in the class with certain physical issues, like shoulder problems, because she doesn't know the people in the class. I think if she subs again, I will skip that class.
I started taking yoga because, well, I'm almost 50, I'm WAY out of shape, I like to eat food and I hate to exercise, there's heart problems in my family on both sides and diabetes on one side. I thought I'd better do SOMETHING. I'm not having any great epiphany like in Eat - Pray - Love. While I appreciate the spiritual aspect of yoga, I'm not looking to make it a religion. Which is good, because according to my daughter's older sister, if you meditate, you empty your mind and the Devil can get in. It's our standing joke: "What are you doing?" "I'm on my way to worship the Devil."